Monte Irvin and Johnny Davis were elected to the Puerto Rican Professional Baseball Hall of Fame.

Monte Irvin and Johnny Davis

Negro Leaguers Monte Irvin and Johnny Davis are two of the fifteen names composing the 2023 Puerto Rico Baseball Hall of Fame Class. Both are deserving additions to the Hall of Fame due to their achievements and skills on the field.

Irvin spent four seasons with San Juan, achieving a lifetime batting average of.322. He led the league in home runs with three in 1945-46, topped slugging percentages in 1945-46 (.555) and 1946-47 (.711), and led in hits with 57 in 1945-46. Furthermore, he won the doubles title in 1941-42 (18) and 1945-46 (12), earning the MVP award in 1945-46. 2014, he was named one of the best 75 Puerto Rico Professional Baseball League players. His distinguished career culminated in his induction into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1973.

On the other hand, Davis saw action with San Juan, Mayagüez, and Santurce. He was a multi-talented player who led the league in earned runs ( in 1945-46 and strikeouts in 1947-48, was named MVP in 1947-48, threw a no-hitter against Aguadilla on February 8, 1948, and led the league in home runs in 1951-52. He is one of two players to throw a no-hitter, lead the league in homers, and be MVP (the other one is Tomás Quiñones). 1947-48, Davis batted eight hits in a row and had six RBI in a game twice, both against Aguadilla (11/19/48 and 11/15/49). Also, in only six seasons, he batted forty-three home runs, managed Mayagüez in 1949-50, and had a record of 4-9.  2014, he was named one of the best 75 Puerto Rico Professional Baseball League players.

This induction commemorates their achievements and highlights their significant contribution to the history of baseball, particularly within the context of Puerto Rico. It is a testimony to their exceptional abilities, unwavering commitment, and the joy they brought to game enthusiasts.

Others to be inducted on December 16, 2023, are Santos Alomar Sr., Candy Maldonado, Félix Millán, Dickie Thon, Luis de León, Jose Pagán, Héctor Villanueva, Julio Navarro, Jim Dwyer, John Boozer, Isidoro García, José Crescioni (Author and historian) and Hector Rafael Vázquez (baseball narrator).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!